My blog morning

I work a later shift (for now), so eat your heart out while your driving to work in the early holy crap time of the morning I am still sleeping. I have been up and down from bed a few times but I just “officially” got up at 11am.

This is one of the mornings I am glad I am not at work early. The very large corporation I have mentioned in another of my blogs is having some higher up muckity mucks visiting the building. Its always the same dog and pony show no matter how many company’s I have worked for. Clean your work area, tidy up, and oh yeah can you hide the zombie? That last one was a real request for me. I keep a small collection of action figures at my cubicle. The Zombie does have guts (made out of rubber!.. and yes I sometimes play with it) hanging out so I actually do understand that gross looking zombies with their guts hanging out is NOT everyone’s cup of tea.

Trust me, I have a complete understanding of how fortunate I am I work for a Company even allows me to have my zombie friend at my work place in the first place. The Company I work for is more well known for being button down conservative so I try not to make too many waves. Now and then I do like to see I can push the envelope just a little. Lately mother nature decided my newest hair color: gray. Not all gray (yet) but just a swoosh in the front. In the past I took my chances and have dyed my hair dark red(ish) to dark purple. No one said boo, and I both amazed and happy my employer has seem to except my unique sense of self expression. I also occasionally wear loud shirts. The official dress code says the shirts worn must have a collar, and they indeed do. I was told when I was training that since my loud shirts are really loud that they would be frowned upon in such a conservative environment. I guessed I proved them wrong.

By the time I get to work I doubt if there will be any muckity mucks still there. They may, but normally if you dress really sharp to try to impress your wasting your time. When there is a visit like this everyone acts if the visitors will be coming to each and every cubicle or work space and personally inspect it. Now you know, no matter how clean, tidy, and organized everything looks the people who are playing host will only allow the guests to “tour” an “approved” route and would never in a million years show them the real underbelly (annnnnd this is where we dump all of our trash!) of the building.

Despite the fact I will most likely NOT have any encounter with the visitors I will behave myself and make certain I do not wear one of my loud shirts (although I would really like to).

2 thoughts on “My blog morning

  1. I can’t imagine having to do the “clean up your desk” chore. I know I’d be fired if they saw my current office because as you can imagine it is awful. No dead mice on the desk or leftover lunch wrappers but it is still a disaster. Luckily for me, my cat is the only one that dares to visit me.

Leave a Reply

